Documentary: The Last Train Home

On Friday night, Wisconsin Public Television broadcast this documentary on their POV program.  I did not intend to watch it; it happened to follow another show I was watching, but I’m really glad I caught it.  You can watch full episodes on your computer for free at the link below.

It is about a family in China in 2008.  The mother and father left their two children in their village with one of their parents and moved to one of the large cities to work in a textile factory.  The story picks up after they have been living away from their children for 16 years – only visiting once or twice a year.  The movie gives you a look into their lives and what they have to do to make money and take care of their family.  But it comes at a price. 

It is very thought provoking.  I cried, of course.  It gave me a whole new perspective on my work and family life.  And it helped me identify with the Chinese people.

http://video.pbs.org/program/1154485580/

 

One response

  1. I saw the commercial for that show, it looked interesting. Of course I forgot to tune in and only saw the last 2 minutes of it. I’ll have to keep an eye out because PBS does tend to replay the documentaries at least once throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

